Tuesday, 18 March 2014

Kerbing the Yellows?

There's been a lot of chatter on car racing forums over the past few months about the new penalties for crossing kerbs and regarding "double waved yellows".

As a karter, all I can say to the car drivers is "Nah, nah, nah, naaah, nah"

The following is an extract from the minutes of the last Association of British Kart Clubs meeting:

"There has been some confusion about whether Kart Circuits have to use the new double waved yellow but the MSA confirmed that Kart Circuits do not need to use double waved yellows.In answer to a question the MSA representative confirmed that the new track limit rules do not apply to long circuit karting as well as not applying to short circuit as Section U has its own rules."

The link to the extract is here:

http://www.abkc.org.uk/News14_2.pdf

So karters rejoice, you can wreck your chassis to your hearts' content and launch yourself across the kerbs with impunity! And yah boo sucks to you car racers who complain that they can't - maybe it's time to get into real racing!